Task 1 B – What kind of thinker, planner, writer are you?

Task 1 B – What kind of thinker, planner, writer are you?

1. What do you think might be the advantages and disadvantages of these different ways of organizing writing?

I think there are many advantages that would allow the writer to effectively finish their essay. These methods of planning and constructing the essay allow for the writer to use a style which suits them – whether it be diving straight into it, slowly piecing it together or building it from beginning to end. The writer would also have the benefit of understanding which style works the best for them and they could even utilise a combination of these techniques to complete their essay as they all contain various helpful approaches.

However, they are most likely to be disadvantaged in other aspects. These structured methods can sometimes disrupt the creative process when one tries to naturally write.

Which way of planning and shaping is most like your own approach?

The method of planning and shaping most like my own would have to be the ‘Patchwork writer’. This kind of writer starts by sectioning of her writing by completing part by part then proceeds to put it together to create the entire assignment.

How do you think your way may be different from any of these?

My way differs slightly from these (although I am most similar to the patchwork writer) as I tend to branch off and go back to it when I run out of ideas  or don’t know how to finish a certain paragraph.

2. Describe how you plan and organise your writing for a major essay

When I start an assignment, I first start by planning using a mindmap that branches off into sub-branches and keywords. I organise this by underlining the key points I will use in the body of the essay and briefly write a line for the introduction and conclusion. Then I prefer to start with the sections I have the most ideas for and work my way through it by stitching it together with relevant information and sources.

3.What kind of thinker planner do you identify the most closely with and what was useful about this reading?

I most closely identify with the patchwork writer as I too like to piece the essay together as opposed to writing it down in chronological order. What I found most useful about this reading is being able to identify which method I am most like and finding out how other students organise and plan their writing. It was interesting to find the different processes and really made me appreciate just how differently people think.

Sources

Creme, Phyllis, and Mary R. Lea. Writing at University: A Guide for Students. Buckingham: Open UP, 1997. Print. (71-76)

Leave a Reply

